Untitled by Selma Martin

Untitled by Selma Martin

Last night the air smelled acrid
Like the metallic stench of long ago
when my girl dreams you shattered
and you would not let me go

I saw myself prostrated—
a maimed lame dog at your boots
my face, blotched and bloated
my mouth, a heavy bloody mousse

A touch on my arm alerts me
of where I am and who…
I’m not her—that girl died in the fire
when the house caved in with you.

At times the stench comes haunting
unsummoned recalls in lucid dreams
what did I do to deserve such horror
and none to attend to my screams

I am NOT what happened to me
I lean on my strengths to take heed
—I AM not what happened!
What happened was YOUR disease.

© selma

Note from the author:

Abuse everywhere. Senseless horror everywhere. Only with compassion will we get out of this ‘wrong’ alive and helpour sisters to rebuild their lives. We need to be here for each other. And we need to reach out in times of need.A lack of reaction is the worst thing that can happen.

Author’s Bio

Selma Martin is a retired English teacher with 20 years of teaching children ESL. She believes in people’s goodness and in finding balance in simple living. She lives in Japan with her husband of thirty-three years. In 2018, Selma participated in a networking course whose final lesson was to publish a story on Amazon. After many failed attempts, she completed the course and self-published her short story, Wanted: Husband/Handyman, in 2019. Later, collaborating with peers from that course, she published Wanted: Husband/Handyman in an anthology, Once Upon A Story: A Short Fiction Anthology

Selma has published stories on Medium for many years, in MasticadoresUSA, The Poetorium At StarlightShort Fiction BreakLit eZine, and Spillwords. After her first NaPoWriMo 2021, Selma writes poetry on her website, selmamartin.com, and in July 2023, published a debut poetry collection on Amazon. You can find Selma, selmawrites, on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. 

47 comentarios en “Untitled by Selma Martin

  1. Selma, I love your work and this piece of course is no difference. Writing this could not have been easy, thank you so much for sharing, it means so much to others. Bless your heart. It is always a blessing to read you my friend. I felt like I was beside you wanting to help you. I wanted to add this to my comment!

    Myth #1: Victims can provoke sexual assaults if they dress provocatively or act promiscuously. Fact: Rape/ sexual assault are violent crimes and involve the need to exercise control over another person’s determination.It is all about power.

    Thank you again for your publication and for sharing Selma. Bless your heart. 

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Thanks for this lovely comment, Joni.
      That mindset that makes that myth ‘the law’ NEEDS be obsolete! People need to wake up.
      No matter how much women ‘muscle up’ nothing will change if the mindset doesn’t.
      Thanks for the lovely support of my work always, Joni. Bless you. Xoxo

      Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario