Libraries Are My Lifeline by Lisa Tomey-Zonneveld

Libraries have always been my safe harbor. When I required a peaceful area to wander and ponder, it became my top preference.

My sneakers tread softly on rich brown hardwood floors. Scents of leather, of pulp, of soured muslin filled the air. Dead fish scented mucilage would settle into my senses along with stamp pad ink.

It was necessary to navigate in silence. It was clear that the sounds had a distinct quality. Thump, thump would go the rubber stamp on the pad, stamping the due date for a book. Shibump would be the sliding of the card catalog drawers. A loud click of heels announced a likely librarian nearby.

My selections would be Dr. Seuss books with bright colors and clever rhymes. I gravitated towards story books, particularly those that depicted real life individuals. One time, when I disagreed with my father, I took off on my bicycle and went to the library. I found refuge in the Dr. Seuss books. I became fully immersed in these books when I felt an unexpected presence out of the blue, which turned out to be my father. He knew me well enough to know he would find me in the library. It happened instinctively, given that both of my parents had a love for reading.

In my younger days, I would covertly explore literature about Gypsy Rose Lee in the library. During my teenage years, I served as a volunteer at the school library. This turned out to be the ideal choice because it allowed me to focus on the books I love in this beloved treasury. Without delay, I inspected all the new books. That is when I discovered Jeannette Eyerly’s books. These helped me, as a teenager, to understand teen life.

As adulthood came into being, I found that the local library continued to be my favorite place. The library in the small town consisted of a single large room. I spent countless hours browsing books and magazines there. The librarian and I would often talk about craft projects as she exuded such a warm aura. Over time, she inquired if I could substitute for her. Being given this responsibility filled me with a deep sense of honor. I approached my job with a high level of dedication. It entailed volunteering and proved to be a worthwhile investment of my time. I also volunteered by reading to children and putting on puppet shows.

Over time, the local library acquired a computer, allowing people to give it a try. Of course, you had to be oriented to it, passing the scrutiny of the librarian. During college, I spent even more time in the library as I researched using microfilms and anything resembling a computer.

Nowadays, the library is as close as the internet. I search for books on the online library catalog. They will wait for me at the pickup shelves. I can also get books for my e-reader.

Libraries offer a variety of programs for the community. It’s not only about books, but also resourceful information for many aspects of life.

I am grateful for the library and my growing up into this helpful system. I hope others see the importance of this resource as well.


Bio Lisa Tomey

Lisa Tomey-Zonneveld is the founder and manager of Prolific Pulse Press LLC and a widely published poet and writer. She is the editor of numerous anthologies and is an editor for Fine Lines Journal.  Tomey-Zonneveld is Poet Laureate Emeritus of Garden of Neuro Institute and resides in North Carolina.

Blog: ProlificPulse.blog (prolificpulse@gmail.com)

Deja un comentario